February 23, 2010

February-March in Zurich

By Nicolas Bernheim

 
Coup de Cœur: The Bührle collection invades the Kunsthaus !
 
Emil Bührle was one the most famous swiss industrialist of the 20th century until his death in 1956. Being a enthusiast collector, he acquires numerous pieces of art from many different periods with a preference for the impressionists. Walking in the room from Kunsthaus dedicated to the exhibition is an absolutely stunning trip: here some little Juan Gris, there a sculpture by degas. The Van Gogh’s are impressive, specially the Semeur (1888) and there are just a a very small part of the show. It is hard to imagine what Mr. Bührle’s house was looking like when all those master pieces were in his living room. Our little preference goes to the Italian room full of Canaletto’s and Tiepolo’s and to the paintings of Gustave Courbet we actually rarely see.
 
Vincent van Gogh, Le Semeur, 1888, Foundation E.G. Bührle Collection, Zurich
 
Kunsthaus Zürich today, Photo Lutz Hartmann, © 2008 Kunsthaus Zürich
 
Our little extra advice:
If you visit the show on Sunday, you have to go and enjoy the brunch of the Kunsthaus restaurant (36CHF./pax, drinks included). Otherwise, 3 tram stops from the museum, you can enjoy the Bratwurst from the Sternen (http://www.vorderer-sternen.ch), probably the best in Switzerland.
 
Kunsthaus Zürich, Heimplatz 1, CH-8001 Zurich, www.kunsthaus.ch
 
To see :
 
Restaurant and Bar Kronenhalle
It might sounds strange to recommend the visit of a restaurant to our fellow arty friends but the Kronenhalle has a unique place in the history of art. The restaurant was built in 1862, and taken over bei the Zumsteg family in 1925. The family’s son, Gustav, transformed the place in the meeting point of the Zurich art and litterary scene over the time. You will find there paintings from Chagall, Hodler, Miro, Braque and Picasso. Some lamps were even designed by Alberto Giacometti himself ! This is a place which has become a compulsory stop for art lovers (even for just a coffee) in Zürich.
 
Marc Chagall dans le Restaurant Kronenhalle
www.kronenhalle.com
Rämistrasse 4
CH-8001 Zürich
Telefon Restaurant +41 44 262 99 00
Telefon Bar +41 44 262 99 11
 
Guillermo Kuitca at Hauser und Wirth
Situated in the same building than the Migros Museum for Contemporary art, the gallery Hauser und Wirth presents until the 6th of March the work of Guillermo Kuitca. The installation is based on the stage Kuitca built for the Wagner’s Flying Dutchman in the Teatro Colon of Buenos Aires in 2003. You will find there paper works and sculpture. But the most interesting work is probably the sheet that have been worked on with watercolor and represents the different stages designs. Kuitca represented Argentina in the 2007 Biennale di Venezia
Guillermo Kuitca, Der Fliegende Holländer (Scrim Suite), 2008/2009, Archival dye printed silk organza and stainless steel armature, 243 x 396 cm / 95 5/8 x 155 7/8 in, each part, Courtesy Gallery Hauser und Wirth
 
Hauser & Wirth Zürich, Limmatstrasse 270, CH-8005 Zürich
Gallery hours: Tuesday to Friday, noon – 6 pm - Saturday, 11 am – 5 pm
www.hauserwirth.com
 
 
Our little extra advice:
The building where Hauser und Wirth is located is the former Löwenbrau brewery. It welcomes numerous museums and galleries like Eva Presenhuber or the Contemporary lab of the Kunsthaus. It is located in the heart of the “Kreis 5”, Zürich’s new alternative and hip neighborhood.  You can enjoy great restaurants like “les Halles”, and also loads of bars and clubs that are located in former strip clubs and “Maison Close”, mainly on the Langstrasse.
 
 
Forthcoming in Zurich :
After a very interesting show from tatiana Trouvé, the Migros Museum will welcome “When Bodies get mirrored-an exhibition about movement, formalism and space “, a group show with works from Martin Soto Climent, Julian Goethe, Mai-Thu Perret and others as from the 6th of March. Two floors down, the Hauser und Wirth gallery will host the Henri Moore family’s work on paper collection as from March 27th.
 

leave a comment


Arty Zurich - Out and About

February-March in Zurich

23 Février 2010

Février-Mars 2010 à Zurich

par Nicolas Bernheim

Coup de Cœur: La collection Bührle envahit le Kunsthaus !
 
Emil Bührle, né en Allemagne à la fin du XVIIIème siècle, fût un des industriels les plus importants de Suisse jusqu'à sa mort en 1956. Collectionneur que l’on pourrait qualifier de compulsif, il acquit nombre d’œuvres d’art de diverses époques, notamment impressionnistes,  que l’on retrouve exposées au Kunsthaus. Déambuler dans les salles du musée se révèle être une promenade absolument extraordinaire : ici deux petits tableaux de Juan Gris, là une sculpture de Degas. Les Van Gogh sont impressionnants, notamment Le Semeur (1888), et ne représentent qu’une infime partie de l’exposition. Il est difficile de s’imaginer tant de chefs-d’œuvres de l’histoire de l’art réunis à l’époque dans la maison de M. Bührle. Notre coup de cœur va à la salle italienne, remplie de Canaletto et de Tiepolo, et aux tableaux de Courbet, que l’on a peu l’occasion de voir.
Vincent van Gogh, Le Semeur, 1888, Foundation E.G. Bührle Collection, Zurich
 
Kunsthaus Zürich today, Photo Lutz Hartmann, © 2008 Kunsthaus Zürich
 
Notre petit conseil en plus :
Si vous pouvez visiter cette exposition le dimanche matin, nous vous recommandons chaudement le Brunch du restaurant du Kunsthaus (36.-CHF/pers boissons incluses). Sinon, les saucisses de veau grillées du Sternen (place Bellevue, à 3 arrêts de tram, http://www.vorderer-sternen.ch ) ont la réputation d’être les meilleures de Suisse.
 
 
Kunsthaus Zürich, Heimplatz 1, CH-8001 Zurich, www.kunsthaus.ch
Horaires d'ouverture: Sam/Dim/Mar 10-18h, Mer/Jeu/Ven 10-20h, fermé le lundi 
Pâques: du 1er au 5 avril 10-18h. Ascension: 12 et 13 mai 10-18h 
 
A voir :
 
Restaurant et Bar Kronenhalle
Cela peut paraître étonnant de recommander la visite d’un restaurant mais la Kronenhalle n’est pas un endroit comme les autres. Créé en 1862, ce restaurant fût repris en 1925 par le couple Zumsteg. Leur fils, Gustav, fit de la Kronenhalle le haut-point de la vie artistisque et littéraire de Zürich. On trouve ici, outre une cuisine classique et raffinée, des superbes tableaux sur les murs : Chagall, Miro, Hodler, Sabattini, Braque, Picasso. Même certaines lampes furent créées par Alberto Giacometti ! Lieu unique par excellence, la Kronenhalle est le passage obligé (même juste pour un café) des amateurs d’art à Zürich.
 
Marc Chagall dans le Restaurant Kronenhalle

www.kronenhalle.com
Rämistrasse 4
CH-8001 Zürich
Telefon Restaurant +41 44 262 99 00
Telefon Bar +41 44 262 99 11
 
 
Guillermo Kuitca à la galerie Hauser und Wirth
Situé dans le même bâtiment que le musée Migros, la galerie Hauser und Wirth présente jusqu’au 6 mars le travail de Guillermo Kuitca. L’installation a pour sujet les décors de scènes conçus par Kuitca pour la représentation du Hollandais Volant de Wagner au Teatro Colon de Buenos Aires en 2003. On trouve ici des œuvres sur papier ou encore une maquette mais le plus intéressant est sans doute l’enfilade de draps travaillés à l’encre et à la peinture à l’eau qui représente les différents décors. Kuitca a représenté l’Argentine à la Biennale de Venise en 2007.
Guillermo Kuitca, Der Fliegende Holländer (Scrim Suite),2008/2009, Archival dye printed silk organza and stainless steel armature, 243 x 396 cm / 95 5/8 x 155 7/8 in, each part, Courtesy Gallery Hauser und Wirth
 
 
Hauser & Wirth Zürich, Limmatstrasse 270, CH-8005 Zürich
Gallery hours: Tuesday to Friday, noon – 6 pm - Saturday, 11 am – 5 pm
www.hauserwirth.com
 
Notre petit conseil en plus :
Le bâtiment où se situe la galerie est l’ancienne brasserie Löwenbrau. Il accueille d’autres galeries tel Eva Presenhuber qui valent la peine d’être visitées ainsi que le Musée Migros et le centre d’art contemporain du Kunsthaus. On est ici en plein Kreis 5. Le quartier alternatif des bars et des clubs de Zürich. Nous vous recommandons chaudement le restaurant « Les Halles », à environ 300m, et son atmosphère décalée et sympathique. Pour boire un verre dans le quartier, il faut aller sur la langstrasse, où tous les cabarets et clubs de strip-tease ont été réhabilités en bars et en clubs.
 
A venir :
Après une très intéressante exposition de Tatiana Trouvé, le Musée Migros pour l’art contemporain accueille « When Bodies get mirrored-an exhibition about movement, formalism and space » à partir du 6 mars avec notamment des œuvres de Martin Soto Climent, Julian Goethe et Mai-Thu Perret. Deux étages plus bas, Hauser und Wirth accueillera la collection de travaux sur papier de la famille Henri Moore à partir du 27 mars 2010.
 

laisser un commentaire


Arty Zurich - Out and About

Février-Mars 2010 à Zurich